90!

A lot of things have happened in the last 90 years.  In fact, I’d go as far as to say life has changed immeasurably.  Which makes it all the more amazing when there’s a big birthday like that in the family.

Last month the Peas Great Nana turned 90.  90!

DSC_0473

Just to put that into context, since she arrived on this planet we have landed on the moon, been through 2 world wars, invented television, women gained the right to vote, driving tests were established, the first atomic bomb was detonated, Einstein & Marie Curie died, Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson & Nelson Mandella all lived and died, there have been countless technological and medical advances including contact lenses, floppy discs, CDs, MP3s, THE INTERNET, Dolly the Sheep, the discovery of penicillin, and the Mars landing.

Phew.  When you put it all together like that it blows my mind a little.  OK, a lot.  Confession time: I did NOT know that Einstein had died in the last century, I thought he was WAY older than that.  It made me wonder, what events will happen in my lifetime that will blow the mind of future generations when they realise I lived through?  Scottish Independence?  Possibly.

So, anyway, to celebrate Nana’s birthday the whole family got together for a surprise party.  She has 3 children, 7 grandchildren and 7 great grandchildren who all clearly adore her.  When I was pregnant with the Peas she told me I had to give her at least 1 girl as all her great grandchildren were boys… I gave her two and she was over the moon (not that I really had anything to do with their gender selection).

DSC_0242 DSC_0221 DSC_0238 DSC_0208

It was actually the first time I had met a lot of G’s family so it was good to finally put faces to the names I’d been hearing for years and a lovely opportunity for H&C to meet their extended family.  Also a good opportunity for us to get a cheeky wee family portrait!  Always a fun task with 2 wrigglers who aren’t in the least bit interested in the camera but are VERY interested in all the streamers / sweeties / party poppers lying on the dancefloor.

DSC_0247DSC_0246 DSC_0244DSC_0299_2

The following day was GLORIOUS, a stark contrast to the biblical rain we encountered on the journey down, so we messed about in Grandad’s garden smelling (read: trying to eat) the flowers and enjoying the grass on our bare feet for a while before heading to the beach.

DSC_0380 DSC_0375 DSC_0430 DSC_0340 DSC_0451

Because it had been a late night for H&C at the party the night before our normal routine was a bit (a HUGE bit) thrown so we played it by ear and let the girls sleep when they were tired.  C crashed out on my knee watching Peppa Pig in the morning which is likely to happen if you wake up at 5am!  H fought it for a while longer but eventually gave in and had a good hour long nap mid morning before we headed to Grandad’s.  C was a grumpy chops pretty much all day until she fell asleep in Granny’s arms (under protest) and she slept for a good 2 hours which meant that I was sat in the car with her while everyone else played on the beach.  Not that I minded, the 5am start had taken it’s toll on me too and I had a 5 hour drive ahead of me!

DSC_0521

[there are more beach pictures which, for some reason, haven’t uploaded… I’ll fix that tomorrow morning while nursing a hangover]

The journey home was uneventful, thankfully.  H slept pretty much the whole way which made me a bit concerned about how they would sleep when we got home but I needn’t have worried.  We arrived home about 9pm, all went straight to bed and none of us woke until 9:30 the following morning… BOY did we need that sleep.

A lovely weekend to celebrate the birthday of an amazing woman.  Happy Birthday Nana!  xx

Leave a Reply

